Meet the Best Shopkeeper in Alameda

Meet Maggie Cummingham, owner of The Clothes Line. Maggie is much beloved in the Park Street Business District and was voted Best Shopkeeper in 2012

Maggie Cunningham, The Clothes LineThe Clothes Line, Consignment Fashion For Women first opened its doors in a small space above To Herb With Love on Santa Clara Ave. In December 2011, we moved to 1407-1/2 Park Street, again a small space. As my wonderful customers say… “The Clothes Line is like a large closet, stocked with great clothes, shoes, jewelry, and accessories.”

The Clothes Line came from my love of fashion and from the encouragement of my daughters and friends. They all believed there was a ‘niche’ in Alameda for this type of business and persuaded me to open a shop here in my hometown. Since the beginning, the ladies of Alameda have been extremely supportive. Some come in for a chat and others come faithfully to shop. They often bring friends and family for a visit and to shop.

It makes me very happy when someone, man or woman, pops their head in to say how much they love my window display, or says things like ‘Wow’ you really have made this unique space look so inviting and charming.

The Clothes Line, AlamedaOur inventory of clothing and accessories is ever changing. Many of our customers come back time and again, knowing they will find something special. Ladies not only come in to browse and see what’s new, many are looking for something quite specific… maybe a cocktail party, work wear, wedding, school dance, themed event, or just something fun and different to wear on a date. I do my very best to have a good selection of clothing for women of all ages, including some pretty dresses for teens.

It gives me great satisfaction to help ladies find that special piece, which contributed to The Clothes Line being voted ‘Best Shopkeeper’ in 2012. However, it’s not just me. I have help from my fun loving hubby Peter, my wonderful daughter Nicci, and my very good friend Suzi. We all enjoy what we do and the people we meet. Peter has ‘his ladies’ who come in on Saturday to see him (believe it or not, he’s good at helping them find something nice). Suzi has her special people who love to come in on Sunday — they love her bubbly personality. Nicci is a ‘fashionista’ like her a Mom and has a network of lovely friends in the community that visit the shop often.

The Clothes Line, AlamedaI work with a number of consigners, not only from Alameda but from all over California and beyond. I am always looking to add more clothing to the selection. So now is the time to clear out your closet — bring in your ‘quality’ pieces for Spring and Summer.

Many of our consigners ask us to donate their clothing to a charity in Alameda if it doesn’t sell quickly. We are more than happy to do this, and everything goes to a good home.

Looking back over our first couple of years, I can honestly say that we are lucky to have a great relationship with our local customers. I’ve made many friends since starting my business and I am so very grateful to all of you.

Come on in, we’d love to meet you!

Maggie Cunningham

The Clothes Line, AlamedaStore Info:

The Clothes Line
1407 1/2 Park Street
Tel: (510) 522-5200
Email: theclotheslineca@gmail.com

Facebook page:
www.facebook.com/pages/The-Clothes-Line

# # #

The Park Street Business District offers great food & drink establishments, charming shops, professional services, and fun things to do! To learn more about what’s happening in Alameda’s historic downtown district, visit our website: www.ShopParkStreet.com/news. You can also find the “Park Street Business Association” on Facebook and Twitter.

Posted in Business Profiles. Tags: , , , , , , , . Comments Off on Meet the Best Shopkeeper in Alameda
