The History of Tucker’s Ice Cream
Tucker’s Ice Cream has been an Alameda and Bay Area favorite for over 75 years. Generations of customers have been enjoying their rich and full-flavored old-fashioned “super creamed” ice cream, along with yogurt, sorbets and sherbets, fresh fudge, ice cream cakes, Cho Cho’s, and Tommy Tuckers.
Tucker’s Ice Cream is SUPERCREAMED! Made the old-fashioned way in batch freezers with only the freshest ingredients available — real fruit and nuts are hand picked for taste and texture and carefully blended with the finest flavorings to produce their trademark super creamed ice cream.
It all began in the spring of 1941 when Marshall Tucker and his wife Verda left their Chico, California home to establish an ice cream business in the city of Santa Cruz. Taking a break on the journey South, they stopped for lunch and ventured into the city of Alameda. What they found here was a unique and warm community that would make an ideal home to raise their children and build a business.
Mr. Tucker had learned the trade from his aunt and uncle in an ice cream store that is still going to this day. With the decision to remain in Alameda, Marshall Tucker opened his shop at 1518 Park Street (corner of Park Street and Webb Ave) utilizing his family recipes for super creamed ice cream. When he celebrated the grand opening on June 3, 1941, some 381 customers were served that day with total receipts of $40.40. Read the rest of this entry »